23.

So I turn 23 today, apparently.

It’s been a few years since I’ve written one of these self reflective pieces so I think I’ll give it a go this year.

Where am I at? I’m not quite sure. I remember saying something similar last time I wrote one of these. I wonder if it means I’ve not made any progress. I feel that much has changed but in such a way that nothing seems to have. I feel calm tonight and not even the sweltering heat of the Middle Eastern summer makes me feel restless. I’d like to think that this is due to song I’ve been listening to today.

It’s one that I saved to my playlist quite a while ago but today I decided to hear it again. It’s called “The Long Way” by this Irish band called The Coronas. I don’t know what it is about it but it’s the type of song that makes you feel nostalgic about the future. Is that even possible? When I listen to it I see myself, aged and grey, still trying my best to walk ahead of the people in front of me but I also see someone walking beside me. And somehow this memory, that doesn’t exist yet, transitions to a cool night where the wind is a temperature that’s kind to my skin and yours, whoever you are.

Maybe we’ll make a bonfire, who knows?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “23.

  1. Sudaraka

    Happy Birthday, Zee πŸ™‚
    We miss you, as always. Have a lovely day πŸ™‚
    ❀

  2. Zeeshan, Happy Birthday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

