Strings & Dots

I worry about the distance

Of the strings between our dots.

When I take my finals steps

How distant will they be?

I worry that they’ll be stretched so far apart

That one day they will fade and fray.

I fear losing this,

This connection that I have with you.

So let me work to keep them from stretching

Let me hold on and pull them back

So that no matter how far we may be

On the Earth we live in

The length between our dots will feel the same. 

But when we do finally leave this Earth

And our strings are cut off

I hope that we’d have held on for so long

Our dots will stay fixed upon the places we stood,  

Like red pins on a dusty map of the world.  

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Strings & Dots

  1. Lex Garcia

    This is really beautiful (:

Leave a comment